The Lakeside Church of God congregation in Norman, OK had its beginning December 6, 1960, meeting at 1423 SW 24th, Norman, OK. The Oklahoma State Overseer, Rev. A.G. Thompson, moderated this meeting, installing Rev. Frank Isaacs as the Pastor.
The congregation began improving the church facility on 24th street in 1969 – first, by disconnecting the use of a water well and hooking up to the City of Norman water and sewer utilities; then, later that year, they installed central heat and air conditioning. That was followed by replacing the theater seats with new pews and carpeting. As the congregation grew, the need for a larger facility was apparent.
In 1971, the congregation purchased property on Classen Boulevard and Lois Street in Norman. A new facility was built with the first service held on Palm Sunday, 1972. Two more additions were built onto the church to add more classrooms, restrooms, and a children’s church/fellowship area.
In 1990, the congregation purchased the present location at 4400 Alameda Street, Norman. After much repair, restoration, and make ready, the church had their first service in November, 1990.
Through the years following the purchased, Lakeside has made many improvements to the 33 acres, which includes a beautiful sanctuary overlooking two ponds, the Crosswalk Teen Center, the Children’s Building/Gym, an Office Building, and a Parsonage.
Lakeside has a rich history. Rev. Kenneth Adams pastored the church for over 30 years. In May 2012, Rev. Brian Wade became Pastor. Through various services here on the property and outreach ministries, Pastor Wade is leading the congregation in reaching the community for Jesus.